top of page

Parish Council Meetings

Annual Parish Meetings

A Parish Council Meeting is a meeting to which all the electors in a civil parish are entitled to attend.  In England, the Annual Parish Meeting of a parish with a parish council must take place between 1 March and 1 June, both dates inclusive, and must take place no earlier than 6pm.

Traditionally the Annual Parish Meeting is used as an opportunity for local organisations, businesses and individuals to come together to keep each other informed about the various activities in the parish, and to have a discussion about matters of interest to people living in our community.

No formal council decisions are taken at this meeting, however comments and matters raised are taken on board by the Council for full consideration within their legal remit.

Management Meeting

Parish Council meeting dates for 2023.

Meetings commence at 7.30pm in the Village Hall.

​​

Wednesday 4th January

Wednesday 1st February

Wednesday 1st March

Wednesday 5th April

Wednesday 3rd May - ANNUAL PARISH MEETING

Wednesday 10th May - Annual Parish Council AGM

Wednesday 7th June

Wednesday 5th July

Wednesday 6th September

Wednesday 4th October

Wednesday 1st November

Wednesday 6th December

The Role of the Clerk

 

The Clerk is the ‘Proper Officer’ of the Council who is responsible for the smooth running of the Council’s business. He/she is the first point of contact for the Council and all correspondence comes to the Clerk.

 

Responsibility for implementing the decisions of the Council rests with the Clerk along with giving professional guidance where necessary whilst remaining neutral and discreet. The Clerk is also responsible for financial management.

 

The Clerk prepares, circulates and displays agendas in public places. She/he signs notices and summonses with a list of business to be transacted but does not have the power to fix the meetings of the Council. The Clerk is required to attend meetings, take minutes, keep Council minutes in a book and hold other documents.

 

A member of the Council may be appointed as Clerk without remuneration but nowadays it is more usual to appoint someone who is not a councillor to be paid for the work they undertake.

bottom of page