top of page

Bunwell Parish Councillors

Bunwell Parish Council has nine Councillors - elected for a four year term in May 2023 - served by a part time clerk. Following the last election, three councillors were elected and two councillors have since been co-opted, which means that there are currently vacancies for four councillors who can be co-opted by the present council.


The names and contact details of Bunwell Councillors are set out below. 

All Councillors are expected to abide by a code of conduct. For details click on the button below.  They are also required to complete a declaration of pecuniary and other interests. Click on the link to see their latest declaration held by South Norfolk Council.

Mr John Chapman (Chair)

Mr Robert Smith


Dr Sarah Spooner

Mr David Ward


Mr Rupert Watson    


Declarations of Interests:

R Smith 

J Chapman

S Spooner

D Ward

R Watson


Parish Clerk

Mrs Margaret Ridgwell

meeting 3.png

The Role of a Councillor


A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years. People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work. A councillor is an unpaid voluntary role.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area. In Bunwell we are able to have 9 councillors.


Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘local council’ is synonymous with ‘parish council’, ‘town council’ and ‘community council’.

bottom of page